

Indiana Water Resources Association

http://iwra.info/

The Indiana State Section of the American Water Resources Association

February 5, 2013

Dear Members and Friends of IWRA,

Our 33rd Annual IWRA Spring Symposium at Spring Mill State Park was a wonderful program focused on the Lost River. The symposium theme was "**Exploring the Lost River: Indiana's Unique Water Resource**" and included several speakers and posters providing background information for the day-long field trip to view several sites along the lost river and its course through southern Indiana. The Charles Harold Bechert Award was presented to **Dr. Richard Powell,** IGS retiree and Research Affiliate, for his lifelong study of cave and karst development and water resource protection and **Dr. Noel Krothe** (posthumous), Retired Professor, Indiana University Bloomington and founder of Hydrogeology, Inc.; for his extensive educational and research activities, and his service and numerous contributions to the water resource community of Indiana. Other awards presented at the symposium banquet included:

<u>Academic Sector</u>: **Dr. Alan Johnson; Dean, Vincennes University, Jasper**; for his guiding vision for sustainable land management on the campus that will continue to yield water quality benefits. <u>Private Sector</u>: **Robert "Bugs" Armstrong, Lost River Conservation Association**; for his unfailing and enthusiastic commitment to education and stewardship of the Lost River System. <u>Public Sector</u>. **The Johnson County Wellhead Protection LPT**; for providing a much needed forum for discussing water-related issues and disseminating water education.

The IWRA Student Scholarship Fund supported one presentation at the spring meeting and 24 students who attended an AWWA Well Abandonment Workshop in September. We thank the following individuals who contributed to the scholarship fund in 2012: Les Arihood, Bob Armstrong, Kristen Arnold, Jody Arthur, Konrad Banaszak, Mark Basch, Siavash Beik, Melody Bernot, Thomas Berquist, Sarah Brichford, Thomas Bruns, Christopher Burke, Martha Clark Mettler, Jacques Delleur, Kathleen Fowler, Jane Frankenberger, Val Frazee, Jeff Frey, Bill Giles, Bob Gillespie, Raj Gosine, Leighanne Hahn, Rosemarie Hansell, Jeff Healy, Eric Holm, Paul Johnson, Joe Ketterman, Sally Letsinger, James Luckiewicz, Jeff Martin, Sherry Mitchell-Bruker, Scott Morlock, Greg Nethery, Klaus Neumann, John Noel, Hunter Pinnell, Glenn Pratt, Linda Prokopy, Mark Pyron, Mark Reshkin, Chris Ritz, Paul Ruegamer, Pradnya Sawant, Joe Schmees, Michael Sears, Cheryl Silcox, Cindy Spoljaric, James Stewart, Jon Stolz, Harold Templin, Larry Theller, Jerry Unterreiner, David Wagner, Bob Waltz, Phil Ward, Kathryn Watson, John Wilson, Pam Wolsiefer-Leak, and Lorraine Wright.

Officers were elected at a brief meeting in December. 2013 IWRA Officers are:

President:	Phil Bonneau, Ortman Drilling & Water Services, pbonneau@ortmandrilling.com
President-Elect:	Martha Clark Mettler, Indiana Department of Environmental Management,
	mclark@idem.in.gov
Secretary:	Joseph Schmees, IN Department of Environmental Management,
	JSchmees@idem.IN.gov

Treasurer: Kathleen Fowler, United States Geological Survey, kkfowler@usgs.gov

Many thanks to Kathleen and Joe for their ongoing service to IWRA.

On to new business, I'm pleased to announce that the 34th Annual IWRA Spring Symposium will be held June 19-21 at the Ball State University Alumni Center in Muncie. The theme of this year's symposium is "The State of the State's Waters". The primary focus will be on the quality and quantity of either ground or surface water available for consumption. Related topics include changes seen with the drought of 2012, research for new potable well fields for expanding municipalities, changes in monitoring and treatment, and a big one – the aging infrastructure that is trying to deliver more and more water. A special session also is planned on the topic "Water Quality and Public Health." You are encouraged to submit an abstract for a presentation at the symposium. The abstract submission deadline is April 17, 2013. Please see the enclosed Call-for-Papers for further details including financial support for student presentations at the meeting. We plan to select one of our students to present at the annual AWRA Water Resources Conference in Portland Oregon. The cost of presenting will be covered by the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund.

IWRA is soliciting nominations for the **Charles Harold Bechert Award** and the **Outstanding Achievement Awards** for 2013. We will present these awards to individuals who have contributed significantly to any of the goals of IWRA including:

- The promotion of research and technical, social, economic, and legislative advances in all aspects of water resources;
- The collection and dissemination of water-resources information through publications, symposia, and other media;
- Relating the needs of management, educational, and governmental institutions for specialized services and guidance to qualified professionals; or
- Initiating and maintaining lines of communication in the water-resources community.

Please take this opportunity to recognize outstanding water-resource achievements in the public, private, and academic communities. **Send your nominations for IWRA awards to Mark Basch, IWRA Awards Committee**, mbasch@dnr.IN.gov, (317) 232-0154. The nomination deadline is April 17, 2013.

IWRA comprises a diverse community of water-resource professionals. Please recommend IWRA to a colleague. We have a growing membership and welcome these new members to IWRA: Sandy Clark-Kolaks, Melissa Fear, Eric Holm, Brian Lepore, Erin Looper, Charles Mitch, Klaus Neumann, Sarah Rutkowski, Pradnya Sawant, Lora Smith, The Nature Conservancy, Bob Waltz, Andrew White, and Robert Winebrinner. I encourage you to renew your IWRA membership by completing the enclosed membership form for 2013. Please continue to give generously to the IWRA Student Scholarship Fund and thank you for supporting IWRA.

If you have questions about the upcoming spring meeting please email me at pbonneau@ortmandrilling.com. I am looking forward to an informative 2013 Spring Symposium.

Sincerely,

Phil Bonneau IWRA President 2013